A roadmap to learn PHP efficiently

I always when I want to start learning PHP I get afraid of learning any bad habbit or things that could lead to unsecure applications. I would ask you experts in PHP to help me and put a roadmap for me from the beginning. It would be better if it is a series of books so when I finish a book I go to the next.

Thanks.

start with this book, it teaches good habits for begineers and teaches you step by step, i started with this book and found it really helpful, although you do need a good basis in html to understand this book fully

I am mostly self taught, but having decided to get my programming certificates online from University of Illinois was the best money I ever spent to learn. You can find them here: PHP/MYSQL Course. I had more than 2 years of practice with php/mySQL prior to the course. I had used many php scripts and built several Joomla extensions. But, I had too many holes in my knowledge. After completing the course, reading and using other codes was far superior. For me, without the classes, I know I would have been far behind what I am today.

After a total of 5 years playing around with php/mySQL(including school), I now own more than 6 php books for which 5 are my main references; PHP/mySQL, PHP Programming, mysql cookbook, PHP Cookbook and PHP Object Oriented Solutions. However, php.net is my main reference.

Nowadays, with more than 5 years later practicing / developing php/mySQL applications and working full-time for a college as a php / mysql programmer, much of the learning is embedded. Writing relational database queries, outputting desired results (without references), automatically writing secure code, creating lightweight CRUD applications, and being able to edit almost all code that is not mine is finally smooth. But, I love php / mySQL and still strive to get better.