Access denied for user

Hello all,

I am fairly new to PHP and have been frustrated over the past few days trying to resolve a Access deinied to user a3668500@localhost (using password: NO). Im using mysql_connect and my sql_query. I know they have been depricated and plan on converting to mysqli but I I would really like to figure out my current issue first.

Here is my php code which established a connection.

public function connect() {
		require_once 'include/config.php';
		// connecting to mysql
		$con = mysql_connect("mysql13.000webhost.com", "a3668500_mbrooks", "xxxxxxxxx", "a3668500_android");
	        mysql_select_db("a3668500_android", $con);
                //return database handler
		return $con;
}

And here is my query code. It is telling me that the error comes from mysql_query line but I from what I understand its probably because Im not properly forming a connection.

public function isUserExisted($email) { 
        $query = "SELECT email from users WHERE email = '$email'";
        $result = mysql_query($query);
        $no_of_rows = mysql_num_rows($result);
        echo mysql_error();
        if ($no_of_rows > 0) {
            // user existed
            return true;
        } else {
            // user not existed
            return false;
        }
}

Is it possible that I could receive this error if there is a problem with my table or one of it’s fileds? On another note, does anyone have any good recommendations for a php debugger? Right now, I am just using the error messages that I am getting in the android LogCat of eclipse.

" Access deinied to user a3668500@localhost (using password: NO)." means you aren’t inputting a password when trying to connect. Have you checked your variable names and values properly?