Adding another option to a select box

I use php and html only in my application. I have no experience with javascript whatsoever.

I been searching for days on how to refresh a select box with Ajax without any success. It’s seems like everybody know how to dynamically update a second select box based on the result of a first select box but have not seen a single example anywhere on how to refresh just one select box.

Here is my problem:

I have several dozens of forms and pretty much all of these forms have a least a select box in them. Sometime when a user fills a form an option is missing from the list of option offered in a select box. I give the user the ability to create a new option for this select box but the problem is in order to be able to select this option in the form the select box must first be re queried in order to show it inside the select box. reloading the page has not been a problem so far but getting into an area where I have no choice to update or refresh only the select tag. Everyone has been telling me that this is the perfect job for Ajax, but can’t find any example anywhere on how to do that. Should maybe I change how I update my database through php only and somehow use JS & Ajax to do that instead, eliminating the popup form to create a new option in the select box? Pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. thank you

To me, the easier industry-standard technique is to have an Other option in the select box, which allows a text-field to be used to supply different information.

<form id="personalInformation">
    <p>Gender:
        <select name="gender">
            <option value="">Please choose...</option>
            <option value="male">Male</option>
            <option value="female">Female</option>
            <option value="other">Other</option>
        </select>
    </p>
    <div id="othergender">Other gender
        <input name="other-gender" />
    </div>
</form>