Admin password on win xp recovery console

This has not been my week, every thing keeps breaking. So I have some sort of error on my computer that runs win xp home. i booted from the cd to run recovery console, it asked me which windows install to log into. i picked the only one there. It then asked my for the computer administrators pass word. The odd part is that thats me, and I have no password set. It wont let me skip this part. I even tried setting an admin password in the user accounts area and then trying to use it still says bad password. Any suggestions on what I can try now? I am the only person to ever use this computer sothat rules out a password set by another user that it is looking for. Unless Gateway put a password on it when it was configured. Help appricated.

I’ve had this problem with computers that have had XP pre-installed. I’m not sure what you can do about it though sorry - hoping somebody has the answer

Sean :slight_smile:

I am a sys admin and I have ran into this problem before w/ xp , do to the fact that a manager in one of our offices decided to set it up on their own and could not remember the admin password they used.

As far as I know the only thing you can do is reinstall.

Sorry I don’t have better news.

You might want to search microsofts “knowledge base”

Brandon

I did find an administrator password recovery software that loads on boot, though it costs $70.

They do offer a demo version, not sure if it is a full version or not, but may be worth a try. Its at:

http://www.sunbelt-software.com/product.cfm?id=265&affid=wxpnews

If you are able to get into windows at all, this should do the trick of reseting the admin password:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;305478

So according to KB article 308402-