Advanced looping techniques with MySQL array

So,

I’m just beginning to learn PHP and know how to do a simple foreach loop to echo out data from a MySQL query set array. Nothing weird there, but I have no idea on how to do it a bit more advanced

My MySQL set contains data from three tables: Name, city and date. It’s sorted with ORDER BY date, city.

What I would like to output is different “blocks” of data depending on the city and the date. Let’s say we have the following data:

Mark, Chicago, 2012-11-25
John, New York, 2012-11-25
Jane, New York, 2012-11-25
Lisa, Dallas, 2012-11-26
Jenny, Miami, 2012-11-26
Nina, Miami, 2012-11-27

What I would like the result to look like when the loop is done is something like this:

[B]2012-11-25

Chicago[/B]

Mark

New York

John
Jane

[B]2012-11-26

Dallas[/B]

Lisa

Miami

Jenny

[B]2012-11-27

Miami[/B]

Nina

If anyone can point me in the right direction here or maybe just give me a link to something similar, it would be great. But don’t just tell me exactly what to do, then I won’t learn anything. :slight_smile:

A good practice when you’re dealing with situations like this is to break the process down into a two step.

It might be tempting to do it all within the output loop, but this creates a lot of headache as well as make future maintenance (changes) difficult.

What you first want to do is break this down into an array that is easier to digest. A good way to do this is to take advantage of PHP’s array index and it’s flexibility.

You can do something like this (you’d want to actually check for data and all that but this will give you an idea):

# organizes the database result set into a digestible multi dimensional array
while ($row = fetch($rs))
{
    $list[ $row['date'] ][ $row['city'] ][] = $row['name'];
}

# now output is easy

foreach ($list as $date=>$row)
{
    echo $date.'<br/>';

foreach ($row as $city => $users)
    {
        echo $city.'<br/>';

foreach ($users as $user)
        {