Advice on how to approach raising your rates?

I have been designing for a couple years now, and while I have raised my rate in general there is one client who has been my bread and butter for quite some time. I manage all their sites and they keep bringing me new sites to build and maintenance to do on the existing ones. They are very happy with me. I have kept them at my original rate of $50 for over a year now. But the work is getting to be enough to where I need to consider bringing someone on, but I just can’t do it at that kind of money. I’m nervous they will leave, but I really don’t think they will. I plan on asking them for $65, even though my actual rate will go from $65 to $75. Does anyone have advice on doing this or best ways to present diplomatically? Thanks!

[font=verdana]The best approach is to be honest and to make it clear that you don’t want to put your prices up but you can’t afford to keep them as they are. Explain that as your business has grown and developed you’re having to take on an additional member of staff, and that you’re putting the price for new clients up to $75 but, in view of the fact that this is a valued client who has brought a lot of work your way, you’re prepared to offer them a discount. You believe that that is still a very good rate and you think it’s unlikely that anyone else can offer the same quality at a better long-term price, and you hope that they will understand.