Advise for a new web builder

I’m not new to HTML/CSS. But, I’m new to building websites that uses sliced images that joins together to form the full image and building cross browser compliant websites.

Pls advise if its easier to use Divs or Tables to do such a layout. I’ve been told tables are less problematic? Since they’ve been around for a long time and the layout has to look the same even in IE 6.

Sometimes I had to do tables within tables, divs within tables…really all sorts of weird stuffs and end up it looks totally weird in IE.

Is there any kind of design that can’t be coded as a website?

To make things worse, I had to work in constraints of oscommerce.

But that aside, I’d like to know the best practice to build a browser compliant website up to IE6 as well as other major browsers. Any pitfalls to avoid (like negative margin? If its considered one).

Is there any kind of design that can’t be coded as a website?

No.

I’d like to know the best practice to build a browser compliant website up to IE6 as well as other major browsers. Any pitfalls to avoid (like negative margin? If its considered one).

Try to keep the document as much in normal flow as you can. Avoid using absolute positioning for basic layout of the page. I wouldnt use negative margins unless you have too. As far as the image goes, can you explain what its purpose is, maybe provide a link so we can see it? How is it to be sliced up? Tables, these days, should only be used for tabular data, not for layout.