Amazon and DigitalOcean

Hi,

I have a wordpress based classified ad website. I have 2 main problems.

1. Some users are uploading big images which affect the site loading times.
  2. I plan to do some advertising which could cause traffic spikes.

So Im thinking about moving to Cloud hoping to make the site load faster and easily scale up the site if I face a traffic spike. I came across Amazon EC2 + S3 AND mainly DigitalOcean and other cloud hosting providers.

So if Im concerned about Site Loading Times and Cost Effectiveness what would you recommend from following scenarios: (Im kind of new to this. So if Im suggesting something dumb, please correct me)

1. Use Amazon EC2 for hosting EVERYTHING (Wordpress core files + images-wp content)
  2. Use Amazon EC2 for Wordpress Core files and Amazon S3 for images
  3. Use DigitalOcean or similar to host Everything
  4. Use DigitalOcean or similar to host Wordpress Core files and Amazon S3 for images

Thank you

1 Like

A lot of this is personal preference, load, scalability, etc. It depends on your situation.

Amazon EC2 is going to be easier for you to micro-scale. To move resources up in increments, or subtract them, add instances, load balance, etc. There are also auto-scaling things you can set up that will increase your resources during high load times, which sounds like something you could use.

Digital Ocean is a dream of easiness to get set up, and you can scale up generally easily. It’s also pretty reliable and pretty fast. But nowhere near the micromanaging capability of EC2, in my opinion. It’s easier and less time consuming to manage, in my experience, but you have way less options. Depends on what you need.

If you’re really concerned about the image hosting, maybe it would be good to use S3 for images either way.

1 Like

Thanks for replying.

What about the cost effectiveness? I saw in lot of places that Amazon can be expensive. Also as you can’t predict how much will be the bill, its risky.