Anonymous vs prototype in jquery

Hi there everyone,

i want to know what is the best one to use, i’m looking for something alone the lines of classes and methods like the way PHP uses it in OOP.

i have started to look this up and the two things i have found was the use of “anonymous” functions:

(function(){
  function foo(){
    //do something
  }

function bar(){
   // do something
  }
} ());

and javascript’s prototype:

function foo(name){
  this.name = name;
}
foo.prototype.bar = function(){
   return this.name;
 };

This is just a simple example and not any code i’m working with.
So my question is what is better to use, i personally like prototype because it looks like you don’t have to pass the main functions parameters to the prototype (so it’s like extend in PHP class…sort of) but again i like the why the anonymous works as well.

i’m just a bit lost and don’t know what is the best option to take as i am really new to jquery and javascript
Any and all help will be really great :slight_smile: thanks for reading and taking the time.

The first method allows you to have a clean local variable scope. There is a very weird bug or feature of js such that if the preceding js line doesn’t end in a semicolon the anonymous function immediately called technique won’t work. To prevent this use

;(function(){

for the first line. As far as prototypes go, everything, and I do mean everything has a prototype that can be modified - this includes the native objects of the language such as String, Array, even Function. The prototype.js framework makes heavy use of this but it comes at the cost that such code’s behavior around code blocks written by other people is incredibly unreliable. In the long run this is why jQuery beat out prototype.js

Hi @Michael_Morris thank you for the tip :slight_smile: i must have forgot to mention that i’m not talking about the prototype.js lib, i’m talking about the native prototype JS uses