Any Canadian recommendations?

Hi folks!

I’m a UK-based designer and normally use a UK-based host for all my clients, but I’m taking on a new Canadian-based client (an old friend) and am thinking about going for a Canadian-based web hosting company. Any recommendations from the other side of the pond?

The website will be for a new small business (music agent for bands) so will be looking for a fairly basic shared hosting solution, with a few GB webspace, decent bandwidth and PHP/MySQL - but want a reliable host with good customer service.

Thanks,

C :slight_smile:

I use a Canadian host which is a bi-business in both Canada and the US. My suggestion is find a package you like and make sure you do some currency conversion to see how much you are paying.

UK uses pounds so obviously you want to make sure the price is right.

How does it matter which country a host is in? Generally they have servers in different countries. So if you pick up a host say Rochen, they’d generally have a server near Canada or nearby and they’d put your site on to that server.

Or am I wrong? Does it really matter?

You may try [B][U]Webserve Canada[/U][/B]

I have heard they are good and have an extremely responsive technical support team.

Check some deals on the webhostingtalk.com as well. They have a section for offers and they have a section where you will be able to request a free quote.

i think netfirms is a Canadian hosting company. i have used them 3-4 years ago and have a good experience

If you could be a little more flexible, you would be able to get quite a few deals on shared hosting from the US based webhosts. A lot more choice is available.

However, if you are keen only on a canadian host, then you may have to wait a little more. You may check on the options mentioned before in this thread. Google may help too.