Anybody Wanna Lend a hand?

I’ve been working at a small company for the past 5 years. This company uses a software that someone created a long time ago using Microsoft access. Though it gets the job done it is extremely clunky and slow.
With that said, I’ve been interested in learning to code for a while but never really had a reason to learn.

Well I now have my reason.

The owner of the company said they have no intentions of upgrading software themselves but if I could build something better they would gladly use it and possibly pay me for the final product. So basically, I want to build a web application for my company. I know that it may take me years to build it but I don’t care.

If anyone would like to guide me in the right direction I would be extremely thankful. This is a sales company and even though I do ok I’m usually near the bottom of the pecking order in that regard. If I could build this app I would be the office hero as the current system we have now is universally hated.

Thanks in advance!

It does sound like an opportunity. I am presuming its a database application.

Have you any idea of the number of tables in the database? Also how many forms?

Warning: Many like PHP but my bias for database web development is Python/Django. I think Python is a better first programming language for absolute beginners.

That out of the way I think you need to try and work out how much work you need to do. The number of database tables and forms may give some fairly crude measure for that.

Then perhaps assess what is most onerous about your present system. (I am thinking you may be able to come up with a partially working system initially, that is incomplete but useful, so that your boss can readily see the merits of the direction you are going in.)

Sounds like an interesting project and if you do decide on python/Django I can help you with that but first we would need to assess what is needed.

Would you happen to have skype?