Anyone is making good money developing free app for android

just wondering if developing free app with android or ios bring any money for developers by just adding ads to the app.
or is it better to sell the app?

I too am interested in when one should should use ads in their mobile app compared to selling the app for a buck.

[FONT=verdana]Yes, you can make money with free apps. A common approach is to develop a sophisticated app that people will be happy to pay money for, and then give away a free introductory version, with just a subset of the features. You must make it easy (and desirable) for people to upgrade. Only a small percentage will upgrade, but if you get the economics right, you can still make money.

As you say, another possibility is to give away an ad-supported version of the app. I’ve no experience of this, but I would be dubious that it would pay. I imagine the click-through rate would be relatively small on a mobile device, plus the income per click would be low as well, since it is harder for the advertiser to convert clicks into sales. But it might be worth trying.

Either way, the key to success is to develop a genuinely useful, high-quality app - one that people will talk about and want to download. Remember, there’s an awful lot of competition in these markets.

Mike
[/FONT]

It depends entirely on what the app is.

To my knowledge, people rarely make a lot of money from mobile apps, even complex apps.

I don’t know about that, tell that to Zynga. There’s plenty of successful mobile apps out there.

Zynga is one company (one that is currently plummeting). There are millions of apps out there.