Anyone know of good SEO Courses?

As the title says, does anyone know of any good SEO courses, preferably free ones? I am a beginner at all this. I know the basics, but am befuddled as to why the SEO “experts” charge such large fees for this type of work. Is it really that challenging? Is there really that much skill / experience needed to get good results?

At the moment it seems to me, to be some kind of black art. But I’m sure there must be a way that even a moron like me can learn enough about SEO to get my website to the top of the tree, for at least some of my key search terms.

Anyways I’d be grateful for any pointers :smiley:

I should add that I have read the info on this forum and found it to be extremely informative

Yeah, you will definitely run into a lot of people selling SEO tactics. why?; because it straight out monetizes your website, if you have a better page rank or relevance to keywords your gonna get more visits –> more visits = more clicks on ads potentially and more $$. Here’s a pretty decent introduction to Google targeted SEO Google targeted SEO. SEO is a bit of a task though, one day you’ll have a number 1 page rank the next your three or four, the hardest part is maintaining your pagerank. Anyone can do it, just takes a bit of work. :slight_smile:

You can get most the information on SEO just by searching on the topic. Be careful what you read because some of the information may be outdated or plain incorrect.

Good Seo? To make your SEO effective you just follow just rules. At first you should choose a good domain name, title tag, meta keywords, meta description, image optimization, good content for on-page seo. Then you should create more and more back links by exchange links, blog commenting, forum posting, social book marking etc for off-page seo. If you do off-page seo regularly, your site will get good page rank and traffic.