Applying application design to turnkey solutions

I am a developer that’s looking to move on more into back-end work than front-end work. The places I’ve worked at usually have a grand share of clients with problems that are solved by offering them websites built with turnkey software (we are a 90% PHP web shop). There doesn’t seem to be much leeway to work on the back-end if I continue getting projects involving third-party turnkey solutions. The closest I get was with using SugarCRM and sometimes Magento. We don’t really “invent” our own stuff here, so how do I get the most out of developing my application design skills?

Drupal is a love and hate, and considering our system has 255 modules installed (don’t ask) it’s more hate. It works great, until it doesn’t work, lol. Though I don’t think Drupal by itself is a terrible system, its when you start adding all other other crappy modules out there.

Sounds like in the ideal job like the one you’re describing, there would usually a couple of very senior developers that know a lot about software, and the willingness for a company to offload some of their time to work together with the juniors. Becoming an expert is a lot about having another expert humble you and tell you how to do things right.

When people talk about design patterns here, I get curious about how many actually get to do this in their day jobs. I get the impression that a lot of the PHP experts here are in their 30’s and 40’s and grew up in a software culture before the web. The problem I have is that employers no longer care if you just know PHP…it’s become the new HTML because it seems like just the whole world knows it by now. So more and more specialization is in demand, in specific areas and frameworks.Which is probably why that guy I mentioned before said something along the lines of “If you’re a junior developer and you want to go PHP now, forget it.”