Automatic Update the Pages

Hi!

I have a news website which I need to update everyday. But whenever I want to change the layout of the website I need to change the layout of every pages (which is not possible as there are many pages in a news websites).

Can anyone tell me a method or name any software which would help me to change the layout as my wish. And after changing the layout, all the pages also changes the layout automatically (without changing the main content or news area, because it is the single thing which is different in every page).

And I am using HTML and Css just for your reference.

I am helpless. Please help me. :confused:

You forgot to specify which CMS you’re using.

I am not using any CMS just HTML and CSS.
But again I have no knowledge about using CMS with HTML and CSS to update a website…

Plz help me …

Sorry, you posted this in the “WordPress CMS” forum so I figured you were. (now moved)

Having consistant pages usually involves templates or at least include()

Is this a PHP site? If purely HTML then I’m afraid it’s multiple file edits.

Even if its HTML extensions you can use php includes by placing a single line in your htaccess. But to answer your question you need to place all the common elements of all your pages in php includes. This way when you edit the include it will populate to all the pages.

An alternative to Jezabel’s is to use Dreamweaver (or any other web design software that supports templates). In Dreamweaver specifically, you are able to create templates, add editable regions within the template, and then and then base each page of your site off the template.

When you change the template, Dreamweaver changes all the files on the site automagically - and you just have to reupload all your HTML :slight_smile:

But Jezabel’s solution is really much cleaner and less reliant on a piece of software, if your server supports my kind of server side language (probably 99.9% of commercial web hosting servers do!).