Basic HTML Question from a complete newbie?

Dear all,

I am working through the “Build Your Own Web Site The Right Way” book and I’ve come across a bit of markup that doesn’t work for me. It seems to work correctly in the book archive code, but when I apply it, it goes wrong. Here it is:

<p>To find out more, contact Club Secretary Bob Dobalina on
01793 641207 or email <a href="mailto:bob@bubbleunder.com">
bob@bubbleunder.com</a>.</p>

When I save the page in HTML and launch it, the whole paragraph highlights if you hover over it, as if it is a link. Only the email address launches when you click on it, the rest of the sentence doesn’t, but it still has the wrong color and it highlights as if it is a link.

Where am I going wrong?

Many thanks.

Nick

It sounds like there is some CSS associated with the <p> tag. Are you using a framework or starting from a blank screen?

Hi,

Starting with a blanc screen (notepad :slight_smile: ). The CSS associated with the above is:

p {
font-size: small;
color: navy;
}

This is for all parahraphs, but the one with <a… doesn’t conform to the rule.

Also this CSS may be relevant:

a {
font-weight: bold;
color: black;
}

a:visited {
color: navy;
}

a:hover {
text-decoration: none;
color: white;
background-color: navy;
}

a:active {
color: yellow;
background-color: navy;
}

These rule seem to apply to the paragraph text as well as to the link within it, only the text that is not an email address, doesn’t turn into an email msg. But it is colored in black, rather than navy and highlights like a link when you hover over it.

Thank you

I think, the easiest way to identify why this <p> acts as it does, might be to install the Firebug Addon for Firefox and from there simply check what CSS definitions are ascribed to it.

And also you could check whether this lovely hover effect shows up in different browsers as well.