Battle of Responsive Web Design: Zurb Foundation, Less Framework 4 OR Columnal?

Good evening,

I really want to get into responsive web design. My goal is to launch websites quicker that are mobile friendly and great for different screen resolutions. Help me. I’m a noob. My head is spinning from all the options out there. :flippy:

QUESTIONS

1. Can someone with experience recommend which CSS frameworks ABOVE are BEST to start out with?
  2. What are the Pros and Cons for the different Frameworks listed? (IE 6,7,8 etc) Feel free to suggest anything not listed.
  3. Once the site is built can I easily add jQuery sliders, effects or animations?

Donate to the needy with your genius :cool:

None. Code the template yourself. :slight_smile:

Frameworks tend to introduce more complexity than you need. Responsive CSS is not hard to do.

IE 6,7,8 etc…

These are not very welcoming of responsive design.

Once the site is built can I easily add jQuery sliders, effects or animations?

Yes, although things like sliders are not so easy to make responsive, so use them with care.

[In Madea Voice] Hellerrrrrrr

Ralph, I was referring to which css frameworks listed above are the best options to learn and the pros & cons for each. Some of the one listed I think don’t work in IE.

I do agree they all appear overly complicated. I’m just tired of hand-coding websites from scratch. Is there a way I can create my own system to launch websites quicker? I was hoping a CSS framework could help with this

Thank you for your opinion.

Partly why I said what I did is that people come here with all sorts of problems with frameworks—problems they don’t need to have, IMHO. I quite enjoy doing layouts from scratch, so I guess everyone is different. But I’m sure you could abstract a few basic designs of your own that you can adapt to various projects. That way at least you know how they work.

Anyhow, that’s just my view, and I’m sure you’ll get other perfectly valid perspectives. :slight_smile: