Best 80% screen css magazine format liquid layout

Hi All, I am looking to design a variable, liquid, sized div, (nested?) magazine layout, that would include many columned snippets with links to full articles on inside pages. Possibly a static left and right columns that would hold ads and static information, Please be patient with me if my naivety is showing, I am somewhat new to css web design, in any case, I found these links in a different thread on Sitepoint. Once I have designed the site I will convert to a Wordpress Theme through a tutorial I found on another site.

"An easy way to do it, is just use already made layouts. Like these:
http://www.free-css.com/free-css-layouts/page1.php
http://csseasy.com/ "

Pls comment if I am not making any sense, perceived obstacles, or a better way than how I am approaching the project.

Well…what exactly do you want us to do? Say “congratulations” and be gone? (Sorry, that was a bit harsh)

Do you want us to explain how to do a multi-column layout or a magazine layout?

~TehYoyo

Hum…, yes, a bit harsh, What I would like feedback on is what I am trying to do is feasible, liquid css within nested divs, that would have dynamic layouts on different pages within those nested center div’s, with two static, horizontal sized outside columns between fixed header’s and footers, before I start trying to bring this to fruition I would just like feedback if this is a reasonable approach.

Not quite sure what you mean by ‘nested’. With the assumption that this means ‘inline’ (which is what I thought it means - I’ve heard the word before, but…yeah. whatever), I’ll proceed.

So pretty much what you seem to want is:

[list][]A header and a footer (good idea! major brownie points for that! :lol:) - Is this like position:fixed; or is it a fixed-width?
[
]two divs of fluid width (height isn’t a big deal)
[]stuff inside of the divs w/ fluid width
[
]outside columns with fixed widths (in pixels)
[/list]