Best method for storing and validating login credentials

Hello,

I’m relatively new to PHP. Currently I’m using md5() to hash and store passwords. Something like:

$salt = 'SomeSaltString'; //fixed salt
$password = 'SomePassword';
$pass = md5($salt . $password);

According to the PHP manual, crypt() with blow fish is the way to go [unless you think my md5() hashing method above is sufficient]:

$hash = crypt('SomePassword', '$2a$07$StrThatIs21Characters$');
//output: $2a$07$StrThatIs21Characters.GDZ.DtvzhBXbOr3S5W68Rh5PFgnomoq

However, I don’t quite understand how to implement this correctly. A few questions:

1]. $2a indicates strength level?
2]. $07 something to do with round trips? Please elaborate further on this…
3]. StrThatIs21Characters$ - salt needs to be 22 chars in length including the $. Should this be a fixed salt?? I’m getting conflicting info on this…

These are the important implementation questions:

4]. What part of the output should be stored in the database [in the password column]?
5]. What data type best suits the password column? Perhaps nvarchar?
6]. How should a login attempt be verified when using this method?

Many thanks!

Just an example, would this be fine for question 6 - assuming the entire output from the post above [//output: $2a$07$StrThatIs21Characters.GDZ.DtvzhBXbOr3S5W68Rh5PFgnomoq] is stored as the password. [Note: I wouldn’t do a password comparison with the database like this]:

$salt = ‘$2a$07$StrThatIs21Characters$’; //fixed salt
$userPassword = $_POST[‘password’];
$hashedPassword = crypt($userPassword, $salt);
$databasePassword = //get database password

if ($hashedPassword == $databasePassword) {
echo “Password verified!”;
}

I would suggest using PHPass for password hashing. It uses bcrypt and automates hashing, salting, and stretching of passwords. The script is at: http://www.openwall.com/phpass/