Best way to call a mobile only stylesheet

I’m new to mobile development. I’m working on my first mobile site.

It’s responsive, but I’ll say the mobile ‘version’ is waaay different than the desktop/table ‘version’. Because they are so different I assume I should make a mobile stylesheet??

I guess I would want, for example, desktop.css to load at x viewport width and mobile.css to load for mobile devices. So my questions is, what’s the best way to load the appropriate stylesheet?

Sorry if this doesn’t make too much sense, I’m brand new to mobile.

You should Google media queries. That’s they way you want to go…

Hi,

First you would need to add the viewport meta tag to tell mobile devices that you are handling the display and then you would use media queries to adjust the display when it no longer fits at a certain size width.

Read this article for a good overview of one of the best techniques to use. You cater for the design rather than the device because there are so many devices at various widths that it is impossible to make fixed width layouts for each device so you create a fluid layout that goes from large to small and then it fits all devices almost automatically.

Thanks all!

I think this is what i was looking for:

<link rel="stylesheet" href="styles.css" media="only screen and (max-device-width: 480px)">

<link rel="stylesheet" href="styles_mobile.css" media="only screen and (min-device-width: 480px)">

Is that an acceptable thing to do? Or is it hacky? For this project, the mobile version is sooooo much different, so I figure it doesn’t make sense to server non mobile styles to mobile devices and vice versa.

Hi,

Yes you can use those but remember they will be of no use to you without the viewport meta tag I mentioned in my post. You must first have the viewport meta tag before the device will behave properly otherwise it will still be minuscule and shrunk to fit.