Bgcolor disappears while positioning

Hello, I am completely new in Web-Design. I have read some of the site point book in order to learn.

Now I am here to annoy you, I am going to ask a lot of question about my problems while creating web pages with my own ideas. Let me ask the very simple question first:

When I am trying to positiong any div or any HTML5 element with “position: absolute”, the background color disapperas immediately. If I use the float, the same thing happens.

I don’t understand, the parent element has been given a white background, then if I position any of the child elements with “position” attribute, then why the white background disappears. My code is something like this (but not the actual code, I will send the actual page if necessary)

div#container {
  width: 80%;
  margin: 0 auto;
  height: 900px; /* Remember this code, I am going to talk about it later */
}
div#container div#content, header {
  position: absolute;
}
div#content {
  top: 100px;
  left: 100px;
}
header {
  top: 100px;
  right: 10px;
}

Now look at the commented css style, if I add the height in the parent element (in this case the “container”), everything goes ok within 900px. But if I remove the height, all the white background is gone (My “body” background was set to green, div#container background was set to white), what can I do? I can’t always set height as the text flows down. And of course it’s not the right way.

I have others questions, but answer this first. As I am new, details is appreciated.

Hi,
Try add background to the element with position:absolute;.
Also, set position:relative; to parent element.

Hi Ahmed Sadman. Welcome to the forums. :slight_smile: