Bigger jobs, more team players,.. and project management

I’m curious to see how other developers, owners, freelancers, etc… have tackled the issue of managing projects as their volume ramps up and as larger projects require more team members to complete.

What are you using to keep projects on track, team members productive and making sure that details don’t slip through the cracks?

Before you get into this business you need to know who you can trust and call upon. You need to test each member out really well and then when that big project comes you will have the team you can call on.

And once it is too big to even handle by yourself then you hire a good team manager and they will take care of that aspect of your business.

I’m just a solo designer but even I structure my work to ensure that I meet deadlines.
No matter how many people you work with, you just need to ensure that you deal with the two big issues.

Management (you’ll want a project management app - and someone who will ensure that everything runs on schedule)
Communication (ensure you keep in contact with workers, make sure changes are iterated and they know what their doing)

I use a project management app (though it’s not aimed for groups) in order to ensure that I don’t fall short of my workload. :slight_smile:

You need to build pyramid structure of management, it has proven to work through history.
As example: You oversee main project manager, that is overseeing two other project leaders, one of them in charge for graphic part, other programming part of your business.
More tasks, more managers, and everyone has to be in control of someone above him.
This strategy is good, because you can easy spot who is not doing its work.

Project management software is a big help - many people swear by Basecamp.

Thanks for the replies.