Block Formatting Context

Hi…

I am a beginner in Css, and i was just wondering what Block Formatting Context is… and how it can be used with floats.

Thanks ,
In Advance

See Sitepoint Reference for the lowdown on block formatting context. Essentially, it’s the default style for divs, paragraphs, headings and any other ‘large’ element that takes the full available width.

The other main formatting contexts are inline, float and table.

You can also read the full details from the actual specs here.

If you want to know about block formatting contexts with regards to containing floats the certain element properties automatically create a block formatting context and in these cases will automatically contain their child floats.

The usual property is to use overflow:hidden which creates a block formatting context and thus encompasses the child float within its boundaries. (It would need to do this to know how to control the overflow.)

Other properties also create block formatting contexts but their usefulness depends on the situation.

So if i had a block-level element with and inline element and a block-level element inside of it. The inline element will become block?

such as…

<div />
<p />This is some text</p>
This is some Text
</div>

I assume you meant:

<div>
<p>This is some text</p>
This is some Text
</div>

The “This is some Text” doesn’t become a block element but the browsers will construct an anonymous block element around it to help it code with the badly placed code. The text will be an inline child to the anonymous block element. The link above explains it better :slight_smile:

Or is it just that you’re not allowed to have inline elements inside of blocks, so they came up with Block Formatting Context…?

I’m not really sure what you are asking there but I’ll try and answer.

It is very bad practice to do this:

<div>
<p>hello hello</p>
<span>Evening all</span>
</div>