Breaking Down Page Structure into Database Tables - How many tables is too many?

I’m a bit new to database design and wondering what I should store in tables and what should stored with a markup-language in a text field that could then later be processed by the server. My tendency is to make a table for essentially everything but I’ve noticed many applications like say mediaWiki use markup to store their data in a large text field. Does this save time by limiting the amount of Database Queries and the size of Tables? Or does the server side processing take up more time?

My page structure is as follows:

[I][B]Page[/B] contains[/I]:
id
page_image_id
user_id
title
path
deleted

[I]Page[/I] has many [I]Sections[/I]
[I][B]Section[/B] contains[/I]:
id
page_id
position

[I]Section[/I] has many [I]Paragraphs[/I]
[I]Section[/I] has many [I]Images[/I]
[I]Section[/I] has many [I]Page_Links[/I]
[I][B]Paragraph[/B] contains[/I]:
id
section_id
body_text
position
[I][B]Image[/B] contains[/I]:
id
section_id
user_id
image_path
description
position

[I][B]Page_link[/B] contains[/I]:
id
page_id
section_id
description
position

I like to design the database in mind of the possibility of reaching 100 000+ pages. Noting that, the last 3 tables could get very large very quickly. Would it be more efficient to store all that information in markup in the section table then processing the information using server-side code? Or am I underestimating the speed of database queries and this is more efficient as the data there ready to be manipulated? At which point should I stop making tables and use markup instead?

So I guess this is like a CMS you’re building?

For our site, we store the page content in individual pages, and just use the database for page titles, contact info, and other details about the page, then use includes for the header and footer. Which header and footer is used (along with which stylesheet) is determined by the directory structure.