Briefly unavailable for scheduled maintenance. Check back in a minute

Hi from medieval York Uk :smile:

Just agreed to run updates from the ever nagging wordpress CMS. Now I get this message when i dial into my website davidclick.com -

“Briefly unavailable for scheduled maintenance. Check back in a minute.”

I am not a wordpress developer and the cances of me getting back in touch with the developer are remote. Is this something that might fix its self?

Thanks,
David

1 Like

There is a .maintenance file that has been added in the root of your site. You should go in and delete this.

By the way, did you backup your site before you performed the updates?

No I didnt back anything up, no idea I had to. If this ends in a car crash so be it. Wordpress has been no friend of mine!

I can’t even get into my admin :frowning:

Do you have access to your files in your web hosting account? That’s where you have to go to delete this file.

When WordPress updates, it adds this file to put your site in maintenance mode. If something goes wrong to interrupt the update process, it does not complete, and this file is not automatically removed. That is why your site is stuck in maintenance mode.

Hi Web machine, I’m working with this now, found out who my web hoster is www.digitalocean.com Now to find the files :frowning: Thats not easy form someone like me, but here goes :slight_smile:

Good luck! Let me know if you want any help with this.

Ok well ive had “some” progress. My wp site is hosted by www.digitalocean.com. So I log into digital ocean but then discover this is no noob friendly hosting interface. Whilst 123 reg was all cartoons and bright colours this looks like i need to know linux commands or something to find my wordpress files ;-(

This next link points to what i see, a bit intimidating for me -http://i216.photobucket.com/albums/cc53/zymurgy_bucket/cloudflare-file-access_zpswqzgtj57.jpg