Build Your Own Website--Chapter7--Conflict between CSS and Freedback.com form code

Hi! I’m a newbie. Just would like to say that Ian’s book is really great. Working my way through really quickly. But I’ve gotten to Chapter 7 and there seems to be a conflict of some kind between the CSS of the style sheet and the form code from the Freedback.com website. I have managed to narrow it down to a conflict of some sort between the CSS for the text input controls relating to the Contact Us page:

form.contact label {
font-weight: bold;
font-size: small;
color: blue;
}

form.contact label.fixedwidth {
display: block;
width: 240px;
float: left;
}

…and the form code from Freedback.com, specifically:

<input type=“hidden” name=“acctid” id=“acctid” value=“s9fuwx3x5wx5jltw” />
<input type=“hidden” name=“formid” id=“formid” value=“756475” />
<input type=“hidden” name=“required_vars” id=“required_vars” value="name,field-2a9138e5995af44,… />

I know this because the formatting of the Contact Us page was perfect before I inserted the form code from Freedback and then when I replaced the above Freedback form code with the original markup:

<form action=“” method=“post” class=“contact”>

…the formatting of the Contact Us page reverted back to normal and was perfect again. I just can’t figure out what the problem could be.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

I don’t know what you mean by “normal” and “perfect”. That is, it looks similar to what the book shows? But now it doesn’t in some way? You shouldn’t be seeing any “hidden” inputs at all.

The CSS you posted does not affect the form’s inputs, but the form’s labels. Specifically the form with a class value of “contact”, and the second selector for labels with a class value of “fixedwidth”. I have the following for the “final” chapter 7 contact form

<form action="" method="post" class="contact">
        <fieldset>
          <legend>Tell us About a Dive Event</legend>
          <div>