BYO website CSS url question

Hi newbie here. Am trying to learn the art by reading the book "Build Your Own Website by Ian Lloyd and bumped into a gap on Chapter 5. Example code for loading background images to a website is “background-image: url(clouds.jpg);” The gap that is not explained is the “url(clouds.jpg)”. There is no explanation for this code segment. Is the url some kind of pointer? Where should the image, clouds.jpg, be for the url to point to? Need help :slight_smile: and thanks.

The image should be in the SAME folder as your HTML web page you are wanting it to display as a background.

Thank you for the quick response.

I’ve tried putting the image in the same folder as the html page.
I still seem to be missing something because the image is not showing up on the navigation segment as background.

The exact code is under #navigation and reads as “{background: #7da5d8 url(backgrounds/Step - Rod Wedding Pic.jpg) no-repeat;”} in the css style sheet.
Navigation has been declared as its own division in all the html pages. All html pages, the image "Steph-Rod Wedding Pic.jpg, and the css style sheet are (of the same level container, not within another container) contained within the same folder.

Still floundering but best regards,
Anton

According to message 3, the directory where your html page is located should contain a subdirectory “backgrounds” in which the image “Steph-Rod Wedding Pic.jpg” is located:

/thewedding.html
/backgrounds/Steph-Rod Wedding Pic.jpg

In any case, you should put the url(‘path/filename’) in quotes, single or double, otherwise spaces in the path or filename will be a problem.

url(‘backgrounds/Steph-Rod Wedding Pic.jpg’)

If the css file were in a “css” directory, you might have to backtrack to get to the backgrounds directory. url(‘…/backgrounds/Steph-Rod Wedding Pic.jpg’)