Can hash be used to create very good random strings?

I’m wondering if using a good hash algorithm (for example sha-2) can be used to generate random strings that are more random and unpredictable than rand() or mt_rand() functions (which are vulnerable to small seed entropy and other potential weaknesses). My idea is to get a number of always changing data, concatenate them and then hash them. I could be using:

• sytem time with microseconds
  • result of uniqid() with more entropy
  • a salt string created with traditional mt_rand()
  • execution time of the current script (there are always some differences in microseconds)

My reasoning is that the more data sources I use to feed the hash function the less predictable (more random) the result will be even if the data sources are not truly random. I found this idea somewhere in a discussion under an article and I tend to agree with it, however I’m not an expert on randomness or hash algorithms so that’s why I’m asking if anyone can validate this is true.

For some more extreme randomness I could also add more data sources to the string to be hashed:

• a string from /dev/urandom if available
  • a string from an external true random number generator like random.org
  • if the random string were to be generated after a user submits a form then I could use javascript to measure time between keystrokes or even capture mouse movements

My goal is to create random numbers that are random enough for secure systems so that no one can break the pattern and predict any random strings. I could simply use random numbers from random.org, but then there is the problem of fetching the data from a remote server securely and probably storing it on the server since I don’t want to rely on all-the-time availability of an external service.

Here is sample php code:

$start_time = microtime(true);

$time = microtime(true);
$uniqid = uniqid('', true);

$salt = '';
for ($i=0; $i<128; $i++) {
	$salt .= chr(mt_rand(0, 255));
}