Can I make the text in headers invisible?

I’m new at this. My understanding is that search engines find your site by the text in the headers; however I don’t want the header text (the stuff I want to include in the headers for the search engines to find) to show on my pages. Can I do that? I imagine one way to do that would be to match the text color with the background color; however I can’t do that as my background is a wood grain image. Thanks in advance for any guidance y’all can offer.

If you are trying to trick the Search Engines it’s a foolish method attempting to make the text invisible as they search all text not just the headings. And especially if try to you use markup so text matches background colour that will only get you penalised by them.

To answer your question; if you had a legitimate reason, i.e. other than SEO for a little hiding of text. You’d use CSS and perhaps; h5 {visibility: hidden;} or h5 {display: none;} which differ in results but will hide the text.

If you want to replace the header with a non-transparent image, the best way is to place the image over the text. But I suspect that’s not what you want here. So the next best method is to do this:

h1 {margin-left: -9999px;}

What you are asking about is called “content cloaking” – and as xhtmlcoder implied it’s one of the fastest ways to get your site slapped down for abuse by the search engines. If you’re going to have headings, they should be visible and there for structural reasons in the document, otherwise why have them? Stuffing text into headings JUST for SEO is black-hat nonsense that does more harm to your page than good.

Though I do wonder if Ralph is onto what you are really asking as you mention a background image – are you asking about image replacement of text?