Can't get this Rspec test to pass

Can’t get this Rspec test to pass

Hello,
I’m completely new to Rspec testing and I’m finding it very difficult to mock specific objects.

In this test, I have a before block setup as such:

before do
    setup_controller_for_warden
    controller.session[:operation_id] = 1
    @operator = Factory :operator
    sign_in :operator, @operator

@persist_herd = Herd.new
    @persist_herd.operation_id = 1;
    @persist_herd.herd_name = 'Persisted Herd (herd_rations_controller_spec)'
    @persist_herd.save!
  end

describe "GET new" do
    it "assigns a new herd_ration as @herd_ration" do
      HerdRation.stub(:new){ mock_herd_ration }
      Herd.stub(:find).with(1) { @persistant_herd }

get :new, :herd_id => 1
      assigns(:herd_ration).should be(mock_herd_ration)
      response.should be_success
    end
  end

and here's my controller method:

def new
    @herd_ration = HerdRation.new
    @herd = Herd.find(params[:herd_id])

if @herd
      respond_with(@herd_rations, :layout=> !request.xhr?)
    else
      redirect_to(root_url, :notice => 'No herd selected for ration.')
    end
  end

Here’s the catch - we have this groovy little plugin that globally enforces a model scope via a session id, in this case: session[:operation_id].

Here’s the code for the plugin:

module ApplicationScopeManager

mattr_accessor :global_scope
   @@global_scope = []

mattr_accessor :local_scope
   @@local_scope = {}

def self.included(base)
      base.send :extend, ClassMethods
   end

def self.setup
      yield self
   end

module ClassMethods

def method_missing(name, *args, &block)

return acts_as_scope_manager($1, args) if name.to_s =~ /^acts_as_scope_manager_for_(.*)/

return honors_scope_of($1, args) if name.to_s =~ /^honors_scope_of_(.*)/

return current_scope_for($1) if name.to_s =~ /^current_scope_for_(.*)/

super
      end

def current_scope_for(scope)
         Thread.current[scope.to_sym]
      end

def acts_as_scope_manager(scope, *args)