Career Advice - Returning to IT World

Hello everyone,

I’m almost 30 years old and for the last 7 years I’ve been a Police Officer. I’m currently a qualified Detective investigating serious, complex, organised crime.

Prior to this I was a Web Developer - i.e. 7 years ago. I coded PHP (Some Object Orientated), MySQL, CSS, HTML all by hand and on a Linux platform using Vim.

I would like advice as I’m considering getting back into IT with a view to leaving the Police to go into a job in this industry. I’m going to try and re-learn what I used to do which will take a few months although I don’t think it will be too difficult.

My questions are:

1. I have a pretty much clean slate. So re-training (or paying for a course) is an option. Would anyone recommend other things to do IT wise? E.g. Oracle, iPhone / Android app development? These are two areas I don’t know anything about. It doesn’t have to be web development.

2. In terms of learning PHP, MySQL again (well more refreshing my memory), what other languages are key at the moment, as in what else should I try to head towards learning? For example I see a lot about C, C#, .NET on job adverts. I have read up on some C in the past using my K&R book but nothing really that significant.

I appreciate these my be stupid, basic and naieve questions but I’m just brainstorming at the moment and reviewing my options.

Thanks everyone,
Red Rabbit

That’s a good decision of returning to the IT field. I would recommend you to learn new emerging language like Django, python which are new in IT field. Informatica is one of the fields that is having a wide scope in future. Try to take training in these fields. Being an employee in the IT support service provider I can recommend you these languages.