CCS without tables, resources needed

I’ve been doing some basic web design for several years, most using Dreamweaver, Fireworks, and Textmate. I’ve used CSS in all of my projects, but I’ve never built any sites exclusively using CSS. I’ve always used tables for the layout/structure of the sites and used CSS for rest; and I am sick of doing things this way. I hate using nested tables, i hate how the code looks, and I hate how long it takes for the pages to load. I want to learn how to design sites solely using CSS (and DVI tags). The problem is, I am completely lost in how to learn this. I’ve done the classic google search, looked-up books on amazon, but sadly I haven’t found anything conclusive. Are there any books, web sites, or DVDs that anyone can recommend?

I was looking into these two books,

Web Standards Solutions: The Markup and Style Handbook by Dan Cederholm

CSS Artistry: A Web Design Master Class by Andy Clarke

While it seems like I’m shilling for SitePoint, I enjoyed The Art and Science of CSS

You should also read through the CSS FAQ stickied thread which is currently being culled by our very own author, Paul O’B. He’s the co-author of the SitePoint [URL=“http://www.sitepoint.com/books/cssref1/”]css reference book (and online reference linkable in the menu above). He’s written examples of just about every css-layout you would realistically need, and he’s got a great series of css quizzes he runs which are great learning tools.

But those are two solid books written by authors with some solid ideals and experience.