Certifications for web development

Hi all. I’m re-emerging into the web dev gig after some years of pursuing other things. I’m solid in HTML, CSS static sites, and decent at manipulting PHP and piecing a site into a CMS theme. But I’m new to HMTL5 CSS3 and my javascript is almost comletely lacking. I’m also behind the times in terms of standards like responsive.

I’ve been working on my portfolio as a means to brush up but also considering some outside training with certifications.

What are some of the better recognized training sources? I’ve come across:

Pluralsight - Seems very in depth but somewhat expensive
W3 Schools - Free until testing time
Treehouse - Also somewhat expensive
I’m willing to spend some money but prefer to use something an employer would trust.

Any insights appreciated.
Justin

Unfortunately, there are no universally recognized certifications/exams for web development. The field changes much to rapidly/erratically for that, unlike with A+, Microsoft, and Cisco exams in the tech world.

A portfolio of work is the best way to show your proficiency to potential employers.

Sitepoint itself does have its own courses available through https://learnable.com/, but it looks like it costs roughly the same amount as pluralsight.

The best approach tends to be just to start on a project and learn as you go.