Changing domain name registrar

Hi Guys,

I am in need of desperate help :weary:

I have recently taken a friends website: http://selfdrivetransporterhire.co.uk over from vista print as they were paying £10 a month and I said I could have them on my hostgator account and help them build a wordpress site.

I changed the DNS a few weeks ago to my hostgator ones and thought that was it. I have now found out that I need to change the domain registrar, which I have never done before. Do I have to pay for this domain name? And where do I register it?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Many Thanks

To change domain name registrars you pay the new registrar for at least one year’s hosting. They will then transfer the domain registration across to themselves and add the extra time you paid for to the end of the time that was already available on the domain. You must have at least some time left on the domain to transfer it as registrars lock the domain from being transferred when the renewal date is getting close - so that you then have to renew with them first before being able to go elsewhere.

The cost of the domain depends on the TLD (in your case .uk) and which registrar you go with, Someone in the UK can probably give you a n idea of the range charged for .uk domains.

Why? Domain hosting is completely separate from site hosting. All you need to do is access the domain registrar account and update the name servers. But it looks like this has already been done, so you should be all good:

Another question is who owns the domain. As I understand it Vista print own the domain name and your friend just rents it. I would check the whois for the site before going to far.

I can not check the site myself as your link comes up blank. That is strange as the link provided by @ralphm works!

What’s with the

Registration status:
Registered until expiry date.
*** This registration has been SUSPENDED. ***