Changing widths of Django Admin forms

Hi,

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this as I don’t see a Django specific area.

I’m new to Python and Django. Spent a few weeks getting to know Python; went through “Python in a Day” and about half of “Python the Hard Way” before I dove into Django. I’m understanding a lot of things, but still plenty that is over my head.

Currently I’ve got a Blog app set up and my models.py completed. Problem is, the form fields are all about 200px wide. I’d like to customize the fields with custom widths and cols/rows for textareas.

Here’s my current admin.py file:

from django.contrib import admin
from blog.models import Post
from django import forms

class PostAdminForm(forms.ModelForm):
	title = forms.CharField(widget=forms.TextInput(attrs={'size':100}))

class PostAdmin(admin.ModelAdmin):
	list_display = ('title', 'status', 'pub_date', 'image', 'summary')
	list_filter = ['pub_date', 'status']
	search_fields = ['title', 'summary', 'body']
	date_hierarchy = 'pub_date'

admin.site.register(Post, PostAdmin)

You can see where I’ve tried to set a custom size for the title field. I get no errors or anything with this code yet the title field doesn’t change in size. What am I missing?

I also found this bit of code which was from the same thread as I found the above. The poster indicated that it was “better” in some way but I can’t seem to make it work either:

def get_form(self, request, obj=None):
	form = super(EventAdmin,self).get_form(request, obj=None)
	name = forms.CharField(widget=forms.TextInput(attrs={'size':
	100, 'max_length':200}),required=True,)
	form.base_fields['name']=name
	return form 

Does the rendered HTML show actual size attributes showing up?