Client has asked for SEO work need advice

Hi, I am needing help and suggestions with how to proceed with a client who has asked for SEO work. I am a newbie at SEO, have done it before on a basketball blog a friend and I had, with excellent results and decided to offer it as a service to my clients. They have jumped at the offer.

One client has an assistant and after ascertaining what she wants I started doing research on the best methods that will get her to the top. I’ve already spent a few hours on the research, do you guys charge for this research phase? Also, a lot of the things I see that she needs to do to improve could be done by her assistant, or easily done, for example adding her to some directories. Other things are telling her to reach out to others in her field and do some guest blogging. She asked me to write her up a proposal after the research was done. My question is if I tell her all these suggestions why would she have to pay me? Or do I tell her to pay first and then give her my suggestions? Obviously, some work will have to be done by me, by I feel like I am giving away all the trade secrets for nothing if I put them in a proposal. How is this handled by SEO pros?

Thanks

[FONT=verdana]I suggest you tell her that you will write the proposals as requested, and your fee for doing so will be X (you have to decide what X is). Also say that, if she subsequently asks you to implement any of the proposals, you will quote a price for doing so before you proceed.

Don’t approach this in a belligerent or officious way. Just mention your fees in a tone that indicates that this is a perfectly normal thing to do (which it is).