CMS or self build?

Hi,

I have tried using a few CMS in the past but always gave up and just wrote my own site with HTML, CSS and some basic php. I’m reluctant to use a CMS as I feel if I use something like Drupal I’m far more likely to be targeted by hacking attempts. Also, I don’t like the idea of having to rely on finding a specific add on module when I want to something a bit outside the box… also when newer versions of the CMS are released you end up with problems with unofficial modules.

Can anyone with some experience with using both methods let me know if I should just switch to a CMS. I’m just starting to learn JavaScript and a bit more php so I’m thinking I might be able to have more freedom with a CMS in the future when I can modify them myself.

Thanks!

Unless you really know what you are doing, you might be more open to attacks with your own CMS. A good CMS will have good security features. If you need custom add-ons, you might be better off using a CMS and focusing your energies on creating the plugins (which you could then sell to others).

I’m with ralph.m on the security front. If you design your own CMS as most of us have, you’re on your own to make sure someone doesn’t hack it. If you use something like Drupal, you’ve got 10’s of thousands of people using the same codebase and reporting bugs, security issues and patching it. I’ve used Drupal for close to 5 years and haven’t seen a lot of security bug reports in that time. Mind you, it’s up to you to make sure that you perform updates when your Drupal website emails you to tell you there is an update to the core or modules.

Keep learning and refining your coding but grab a CMS and learn it inside and out too. You won’t regret it. Oh, and have a look at which systems are reporting security issues and maybe stay away from those ones.