CMS vs PHP Framework vs Hand coding

Hey all, Needing some advice.

I’m wanting to build a personal website for some fantasy sports stuff. I’m I self taught front end developer without extensive backend experience. I’m wanting to get the site up to speed quickly. I need the following 3 features:

login/logout/profile,
forums,
and email functions,

to go along with a bunch of custom pages. I started coding my own authentication services, but why invent the wheel? I’m looking for a CMS or PHP framework that can get the basic site up fast with those 3 features, but also allow me to customize/code everything after that. Pretty much everything I have done has been hand coded.

The path to this post:
a. I’ve used CMSDragonfly in past. Stuck within the CMS format; not enough customization.
b. Currently looking at Modx. Not a fan of storing pages in the database, you can’t just Textpad a file and make an edit. And using the web interface for editing converting file to resources, and turning all my php scripts into snippets.
c. Looking at CodeIgniter but I’m not a fan of the MVC framework (perhaps I’m just not used to it as a javascript coder) It seems like I’m forced to use the MVC system and not allow to do otherwise; a simple html file I uploaded says “page not found” because it assumes my url will be in the class/function/id format.
d. Looking at just grabbing the php classes from codeigniter and other sources and just coding the rest myself. Anyone know of a good place for php scripts.

And so I ended up here, What do you guys think? Can I get the level of customization from a CMS? Should I take the time to learn the MVC architecture? I may learn more by grabbing some php classes and coding myself or it my take me much too long.

Thanks for any advice

[edit:] sry mods. first post. I guess this should go in the PHP application design forum.