[CODE REVIEW] help with quality of code

I’m new to programming and I’ve been able to hammer out some code that works, but I have no idea if there are better ways to have coded this. Could you please take a look at my code and tell me how to make it better?

$(document).ready(function(){

// get text from all agenda and minutes links and add title tag for accessibility
       // hrefs can be in various folders, but the first part of the file name should be yyyy-mm-dd
      // e.g. <a href="files/agendas/2010-12-10-IITCag.docx">agenda</a>
      // or   <a href="files/mins/2010-12-10-IITCmins.docx">minutes</a>

var meetingAnchor = $("#meetings a");
	var thisHref,
		thisDate,
		thisDateStart,
		titleText;

meetingAnchor.each(function(i) {
		var myThis = $(this);
		var anchorText = myThis.text().toLowerCase().trim();
		if ( anchorText == 'agenda' || anchorText == 'minutes' ) {
			thisHref = myThis.attr("href");
			thisDateStart = thisHref.search(/20/);
			thisDate = thisHref.slice(thisDateStart);
			titleText = anchorText + " for " + thisDate.substring(5, 7) + "/" + thisDate.substring(8, 10) + "/" + thisDate.substring(0, 4);
			myThis.attr('title', titleText);
		}
  	}); // end of processing each anchor

}); // end of document.ready function 

One thing I’m really not sure of is where to declare my variables? Do they need to be inside the .each() function or outside of it?

Try the below

$(function() {
    // get text from all agenda and minutes links and add title tag for accessibility
    // hrefs can be in various folders, but the first part of the file name should be yyyy-mm-dd
    // e.g. <a href="files/agendas/2010-12-10-IITCag.docx">agenda</a>
    // or <a href="files/mins/2010-12-10-IITCmins.docx">minutes</a>

var meetings = $('a', '#meetings');

meetings.each(function() {
        var _this = $(this), text = _this.text().toLowerCase().trim();

if (text == 'agenda' || text == 'minutes') {