Complete newbie; in way over my head with creating a new site with CMS

Hi,

I’ve been trawling the internet and reading thorugh various threads in this forum. But just need some simple answers.

I have created a static website in dreamweaver with HTML and CSS (only things I know, I don’t know a lot about web design) and now don’t know what to do with the files to allow my client to freely change the content on the webpages in the future. I’ve only ever made a website for myself which I could then update with HTML.

I’ve read about and looked at Joomla, CushyCMS, WordPress, Perch and a couple of others, but I have just confused myself further.

Do the website have to be hosted somewhere already or is it implemented with the CMS websites? And when registering do i register in my name, or the clients?

Then is it just a case of uploading the ‘static’ files and putting in the ‘code’ to allow it to be picked out and become customise-able?

What other database/server stuff am I supposed to know about that I clearly don’t, and what on earth is XAMPP or is this to do with something else?

Any help is greatly appreciated :confused:

Best regards, BBA

There are a number of solutions out there that might work for you, some hosted and some that you can implement on your own host. You do have to be careful with Dreamweaver, since it doesn’t always create the cleanest HTML. You should spend some time to come up to speed on basic HTML and CSS and get beyond Dreamweaver ASAP.

CushyCMS might be a good choice for you since it lets you host the site where you want. I don’t know much about Perch, but Joomla and WordPress will require you to redesign your site around their code. That’s not always a bad thing, and both have huge communities that can help you. Also look at PageLime and WebPop, or view my profile for another option.