Confused. Need simple directions

Hi,

I’m hoping there is someone out there who can tell me the simplest way to get up and running with web design. My goal is to do customized WordPress sites for small business owners who want the ability to update and make their own changes.

First of all, please understand that I am a graphic designer, NOT a programmer. I have taken a few classes and have a basic understanding of html and css and I have created a few simple websites using Dreamweaver.

I would like to start using WordPress in the hopes that it will allow me to be more productive more quickly.

So here’s the big question . . . do I continue to use Dreamweaver? I have invested some time in learning it and have just upgraded to DW6. Lynda.com has tutorials on how to incorporate them, but I’m wondering if that’s the best path to take?

Can I work solely in WP? Is that a better plan? I need to know where to focus my energy. feeling kind of overwhelmed and paralyzed, but would like to move forward : (

Wordpress will not be the simplest way.

There is a learning curve to Wordpress. Not to using it so much as using Wordpress is easy, but you are going to have to know some PHP to translate web designs into the Wordpress template system. Certainly, you are going to have to know about Wordpress, too, such as the Wordpress template hierarchy, basics about [URL=“http://codex.wordpress.org/Templates”]creating templates, and quite a bit more. This isn’t going to be an investment of a few hours. It will be much more.

Can’t answer that one.