Copying code from Word to Notepad - still code embedded

Hi,

So I just found out from Constant Contact (CC) (my client uses them, I don’t LOL) that if I copy her text from her word doc to notepad to clean out the word code, it STILL doesn’t remove the code.

So the CC CSR said I should manually type in the text which is a waste of time.

I always thought that copying to notepad (I’ve been doing this for 15 years) strips the code. He’s telling me it doesn’t.

Can someone tell me how to strip the code from Word so I can just copy & paste it into CC.

Thanks

Michelle

I my experience, it works fine to copy text from Word and place it in a plain text editor. I can’t speak for notepad, but you could just place it into a proper code editor and you should be OK. I sometimes paste such text into the TextEdit app on my Mac, but I have it set to plain text, not rich text etc. So perhaps it’s the setting of notepad that make the differece.

As I say, though, perhaps just bypass notepad and go straight to your code editor.

I just did some testing and had no problem pasting into Note Pad.

I’ve never known Notepad retain anything except plain text. Of course, you don’t need to go as far as switching to Notepad - in Word, just go to Paste Special > Unformatted text, and t will strip out any nasties.

I don’t use a code editor, I’m not a website coder, I’m just don’t freelance work for a client as her assistant.

Thanks

Please re-read what I wrote. I never said I had a problem pasting it into Note pad.

That’s what I said. Now I’m wondering if it’s just Constant Contact & not Note Pad. Can someone do a test for me pls. & copy the text from Note Pad to some place to see if there’s code behind it.

Where’s this paste special thing? Under what heading?

Thanks