Creating a category tree from mysql database

Hi! I am building a php classified listing website and would like some help on how to create a category and subcategory tree to guide my visitors to the correct category they would like to view.

Database details:
I intend to use only one table - CATEGORIES TABLE with the following fields.

| ID | name | ParentID |

±---------------±--------|

| 1 | Cat1 | 0 |

| 2 | Cat2 | 0 |

| 3 | Cat3 | 0 |

| 4 | Subcat1 | 1 |

| 5 | Subcat2 | 2 |

| 6 | Subcat3 | 1 |

| 7 | Subcat4 | 3 |

| 8 | Subcat5 | 3 |

etc

This is the result i’m looking for:

Your help would be much appreciated.

Halfdogg

use recursion. pass the id as parameter. check if that id is a parent of other category. if yes call the function or stop.

I’m not that experienced in php. I need someone to walk me thru. Thanks.

Are your Categories to be polyhierarchical?

Would the same article appear in say, Business, Regional and Computers at the same time?

Hi cups,
No, they are not polyhierarchical. The main idea is that a subcategory is linked to only one main category so the category is listed as the head then it’s children listed below it separated by commas.

<?php
function multilevel($id)
{
	$rs1=mysql_query("select * from category where pid='$id'");
	if(mysql_num_rows($rs1)==0) return;
	echo "<ul>";
	while($row1=mysql_fetch_array($rs1))
	{
	echo "<li>".$row1['name']."";
	multilevel($row1['id']);
	}
		echo "</ul>";

}
mysql_connect("*********","****","****");
mysql_select_db("test");
$rs=mysql_query("select * from category where pid='0'");
echo "<ul>";
while($row=mysql_fetch_array($rs))
{
	echo "<li>".$row['name']."";
	multilevel($row['id']);
}
echo "</ul>";
?>

What is the advantage/disadvantage of this method (ie 1 db table) vs having a table of Categories and a SubCategories table…