Creating a simple cms with php and mysql

Hi,

I want to create a very simple cms containing:

page.php - a page template - that retrieves pageheading and content from the database based on the querystring pageID

I guess I need a database table containing pageID (pkey auto inc), page heading (ntext), content(ntext)

pagemanager.php - a page to display a list of pages existing in the database

insertpage.php - a page to insert a new page into the database, using FCKeditor to edit the text / upload files and images.

updatepage.php - a page to update pages.

Password protection for the admin side of things.

I’m new to php but I want to try to build this thing from the ground up rather than using something premade like drupal- i don’t need the functionality. I’m making a very simple site and want to learn.

Can anyone lead me in the right direction for tutorials / advice on where to start concerning my project.

Thanks

Andy

Hi,
http://www.php-mysql-tutorial.com/wikis/mysql-tutorials/content-management-system-cms-using-php-and-mysql.aspx

http://www.devshed.com/c/a/PHP/Building-a-Relational-Content-Management-System-in-PHP-MySQL/

Good luck, it’s good to want to learn, personally I use Drupal and love it, but I’ve learnt a little PHP&MySQL before knowing about Drupal.

Hi, awelch
You’ve got good aim.
It is a good way to learn things. You can have your CMS just in a few lines of code.

I’d suggest to start from insertpage.php, then proceed to pagemanager.php, then to updatepage.php (after you notice it is pretty same with insertpage.php, you most likely join em into one) and to the page.php at the end.

let’s make insertpage.php of two parts: a form and a handler.
insertform.php will contain an html form and insertpage.php as simple code as this (if you choose MySQL):

<?PHP
$table="cms";

if($_SERVER['REQUEST_METHOD']=='POST') { 
  $heading=mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['heading']);
  $content=mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['content']);