Creating an ecommerce site

I’m a novice freelance web designer and my first client has asked me to create and ecommerce site for her. I can create websites but I’m unsure about the process behind an ecommerce site. I’ve been reading on this forum that you need ecommerce software but is there any other way. What I mean is am I able to create the whole site myself if I’m able to teach myself php and mysql which I’ve started doing or will I need some kind of software for the site?

Thanks, any help would be appreciated

Its also easier to buy a ready made website.<snip/>
I ejoyed using this site as it made my job of creating a website much easier.

Hi…need help with prestashop installation…I have installed prestashop but I can see its back end web page and can login into it but front end shop page is not opening up in my browser and it is showing error.I dont know what is the reason?

Have I made a mistake in understanding prestashop…???Is it to be installed with some other CMS or it is self sufficient ? I have no other file except prestashop files in my web directory.

No. Your hosting provider would have to make the upgrade.

Thanks for replying.

No i have my domain hosted to other private server.

Is there any other ecommerce shopping cart plus CMS module which is free, available which I can install easily.Since i don’t have my own server I feel it would be difficult for me to upgrade to php 5.3.0.

But I do have phpmyadmin login with me.Will it help because I can’t see anywhere this option of upgrading to newer version there?

Do you run your own server or are you on a shared hosting account?

If you run your own, who manages it day to day? PHP installation requires administrator level access and is generally something you need some technical experience to handle.

Can anyone please answer my query…???