CS5 for editing Web Pages

I was wondering if I really need Dreamweaver if I already have Adobe CS5? I just want to change color themes and upload slide shows created in Bridge CS5.

I am interested in using the Yahoo E Commerce Templates and Modifying them some to look more professional. The Yahoo Business Solutions says you can use a thrid party editing software for HTML.

I am not a web designer by any means but built one already on yahoo. It is very limiting hence my reservations for the E Commerce version. However, they seem to have all the tools I need to get up and running quickly.

Can someone share some insight to this?

Hi Flavormaker. Welcome to the forums. :slight_smile:

There are many, many code editors and FTP clients (tools for uploading to the web) other than Dreamweaver, and many of them are free. So no, you don’t need Dreamweaver at all … though if you already have it, it’s quite a good tool (if used judiciously) so there’s no reason not to use it, either. :slight_smile: It really depends on what you need to do. :slight_smile:

HI,

I think that if you want to modify existing templates, like changing colors and other basic stuff. You definately do not need dreamweaver. Any good code editor will work, and there alot of free ones that you can find with a simple search on google. Something to make note of though, is that dreamweaver has syntax highlighting in its code editor, and in if you make a syntax mistake, it will highlight the error/line.

I actually do use dreamweaver, and quite honestly i know almost nothing about the program. The reason i use it is because of the syntax highlighting in the code editor. Its’ ftp system is very slow, so i use FireZilla which is a free ftp client.

If i had to go out and buy dreamweaver, would i?

Heck no… I got CS5 Design Premium as a gift… So i use it :slight_smile: