CSRF token,how to implement

I am new with this word “CSRF token”,How can I implement CSRF token in my php,by the way where this should be use I really don’t have idea on this.I just accidentally found this by browsing in google.so I immediately post question here,I know lots of sitepoint people here are familiar with this.

Thank you in advance.

Most people actually ARNT familiar with CSRF. And while it is possible to create a CSRF token framework, what exactly are you trying to protect and prevent?

@StarLion,

Thank you for the quick reply,.so where does this be use the csrf token.?,in submitting the form ?.

what exactly are you trying to protect and prevent?

I don’t know yet how this csrf token work.,I don’t where do i apply this.

While I haven’t bee pretty failthful implementing this on my own websites, what you basically do is generate a token of some kind

function generate_secure_token($length = 16) {
	/* important! this has to be a crytographically secure random generator */	
	return bin2hex(openssl_random_pseudo_bytes($length));            
}

This is utilitizes open_ssl (BTW -which be a bugger to get working on Windows :smile: ) an I usually stick up top in a utility file of some sort.

The when a person logins I stick it in sessions.

$_SESSION['actionToken'] = generate_secure_token();

Then I stick in in a hidden field in a form every time a database table is accessed and compare it to the login token.

1 Like

@Pepster,

Nice example pepster, :smile:,so this is how it works.

can you please show how do you compare,by the way so when you submit the form, in your server side you grab the hidden value ?then you compare it to this $_SESSION[‘actionToken’],

example:

if(isset( $_SESSION['actionToken']) &&  $_SESSION['actionToken'] == $hiddencsrftoken){

// do some stuff here...

}

is that how you compare ?

Thank you in advance.

Using it this way, there’s no difference between a session ID and your CSRF token.