CSS not working at all in IE11!

Hello,

My first post. Please let me know if I am not following proper procedure.

I am VERY new to HTML and CSS. I’m following a tutorial I found online and everything was working fine until I introduced CSS. The tutorial had me set up an HTML5 webpage. Then we were being introduced to CSS. I followed everything exactly but the CSS file simply won’t work in IE11. I downloaded Google Chrome and it works like a champ. I’ve run both the HTML5 and CSS through validators and everything comes up shiny! Could someone look at my code and make a suggestion? Thank you. My OS in Win 7 - all updates installed.
The HTML & CSS were written in Notepad.

Thanks again,
Don

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang=“en”>
<head>
<meta charset=“utf-8”>
<title>HTML5 and CSS3 Fundamentals</title>
<link rel=“stylesheet” type=“text/css” href=“styles.css” media=“screen”>
</head>
<body>

CSS
body {
font-family:arial,helvetica,sans-serif;
}

<header>

<!DOCTYPE html>
 <html lang="en">
 <head>
 <meta charset="utf-8">
 <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="styles.css" media="screen"> 
 </head>
 <body>

CSS
 body {
 }

<header> 

This is calling an extermal stylesheet - <link rel=“stylesheet” type=“text/css” href=“styles.css” media=“screen”> are you using an external style sheet?
If so you do not need this:

CSS
 body {
 }

The above is incorrect anyway as it does not need the CSS and if you are not using an external style sheet ( or it is special to this page ) should be in the header like this:

<style>
body {
 }
</style>

I presume you are confusing the browsers and they are all interoperating your code in different ways.

Rubble,
Thank you so much for your quick reply. The “CSS” you see was my way of indicating that this was the CSS code. It is NOT in my Notepad file. I will not do that again. Sorry.
All objects (HTML, css, images, etc,) are all in one folder in my documents.