Cubical - website with an interactive 3d user interface

Hi!

Since this is my first post, please allow me to introduce myself first. I’m a 3d artist who also likes to program a bit. I’m more or less fluent in html, css, javascript and java.

About cubical, this is a website that I started developing for a personal project. Unfortunately that project is now in stand-by, but I continued to develop the site because I really liked the idea and wanted to see if it worked. So, the base idea was to build a site with an interactive 3d user interface that worked seamlessly across all devices. I think I got it, because I tested and found that it works well in IE11, Chrome, Safari, Opera and Firefox and respective mobile browsers. The site is very simple and has a somewhat retro and minimalistic approach towards the design and the amount of information shown. The heart of it is the javascript engine that joins it all together, giving the user a fun and intuitive experience. The javascript engine is based in the HTML5 canvas experiment “You See” developed by Gerard Ferrandez, who kindly allowed me to develop cubical.

Since my initial project is in stand-by, I developed a template. It has 3 base user interface engines. You can check site template 01, running user interface engine 01 at http://www.a3d-solutions.com/cubical/engine01/index.html. You can also check the other two engines. Just replace in the url engine01, by engine02 or engine03.

During testing I found there’s a problem with the site running on older mobile devices. Since it uses a 2d canvas to render the cube, and that’s a bit computationally expensive, some devices prior to 2013 with lower hardware may have difficulties running the site.

So, please let me know what you think. Constructive comments are very much appreciated!

Best Regards!

Love the look of it! That’s javascript???
Usability, not so keen.