Cycling through records in MSSQL2005

I am making a stored procedure and am sending it a current ID and a mode (ie “next” or “prev”)

How do I create the SQL that would get the NEXT or PREVIOUS record from the CURRENTID, ensuring that if the current ID is at the end of the records, it would then select the first/last, ie:

Record IDs: 1, 3, 6

Current ID:1, next = 3
Current ID:3, next = 6
Current ID:6, next = 1
Current ID:1, prev = 6

Ideas?

SELECT TOP 1 columns FROM daTable WHERE id < $curr ORDER BY id DESC

and since it’s a stored proc, you don’t have to have complicated logic built into the sql, you can instead check the database return code to see if the previous query returned anything

for example, if WHERE id < $curr returns nothing, then you know you want the last row in the table, right?

I’m pretty new to stored procedures. Are you saying that I need to conditionally just do the SQL and then check the records returned, and if they are 0, then run another SQL statement that gets the first/last record?

yes :slight_smile:

OK, I guess my next question is how do I do that? I created 3 (I guess they’re called in-variables):

@panelID varchar(16) - Determines which section of SQL to perform
@currentID int - Determines the current ID
@mode varchar(4) - Either “next” or “prev” to determine what next record to get

Then I used IF/ELSE IF to get so far as:

IF @panelID = 'games'
       IF @mode = 'next'
             SELECT TOP 1 columns FROM games_table WHERE id_col > @currentID ORDER BY id_col ASC
  ELSE IF @mode = 'prev'
             SELECT TOP 1 columns FROM games_table WHERE id_col < @currentID ORDER BY id_col ASC
ELSE IF @panelID = 'reviews'
       IF @mode = 'next'
             SELECT TOP 1 columns FROM reviews_table WHERE id_col > @currentID ORDER BY id_col ASC
       ELSE IF @mode = 'next'
             SELECT TOP 1 columns FROM reviews_table WHERE id_col < @currentID ORDER BY id_col ASC